Governing body

Our Governors are representatives of the local community, parents, staff and the church. They bring a range of interests, knowledge and skills. They are responsible for overseeing the organisation, curriculum and budget of the school and offering support. The day-to-day running of the school, however, is entrusted to the Headteacher and staff.

The GB (Governing Body) plays a crucial part in improving and developing the school and in helping every student to achieve their potential. The three key roles for Governors are:

  • to provide the strategic overview
  • to act as a critical friend
  • to be accountable

The GB is a corporate entity and acts as a group.

How is the GB organised?

The GB consists of 15 appointed and elected Governors:

  • 3 Foundation (Church) Governors;
  • 2 Staff Governors;
  • 5 Parent Governors;
  • 4 Co-opted  Governors;
  • 1 Representative (local authority) Governor.

The full GB meets every half term; all parents and staff are welcome to attend and observe the first part of these meetings. To carry out its many duties the GB is divided into smaller  committees. These meet each  half term and  consist of:

In addition, there is a pay committee which meets as required.

Governors are also expected to form a ‘link’ with a specific curriculum area of the school, to which visits are encouraged, to get to know the work of the school better and keep the full GB up-to-date.

Current Governors

  • Alan Burns, Co-opted
  • Nicholas Buzzard, Co-opted and Vice Chair
  • Anita Chandler, Co-opted
  • Shuet-Kei Cheung, Parent
  • Alice Clay, Parent
  • Anne Etchells, Headteacher
  • Helen Froggatt, Parent and Chair
  • Elaine Gutzmore, Foundation (PCC)
  • Father Patrick Henderson, Foundation (Ex-officio/Priest)
  • Father Ben Kerridge, Foundation (LDBS)
  • Bryony Howe, Representative
  • Sophia Jones, Parent
  • Jetta Norton, Co-opted
  • Alison Stevenson, Parent
  • Alana Wilson, Staff

Download full membership of the Governing Body